The Six Main Hill Tribes In Thailand

The Yao, Karen, Akha, Lahu, Hmong, and Lisu are six ethnic minority groups

Chiang Mai Hill Tribes Coffee Tour

The six main hill tribes in Thailand

Six ethnic minority groups commonly referred to as “hill tribes the Yao, Karen, Akha, Lahu, Hmong, and Lisu live in the mountains of northern Thailand. Nearly all of them crossed the northern border into Thailand at some point between the end of the nineteenth century and the present day.

Chiang Mai Hill Tribe Coffee Tour: The best Chiang Mai Tours and experience
hill tribes in Thailand


Today, the welfare of these groups is taken very seriously by the Thai government. Several government and non-government organizations (including the “National Committee for the Hill Tribes”, set up in 1959, and the “Royal Project for the Development of the Hill Tribes”), civil and military organizations, United Nations agencies, and private organizations all work in close contact with the various groups with a view to improving their situation.

The Royal Project, led by King Bhumibol Adulyadej The Great, has been working for 54 years to address poverty, illegal farming, inequality, and natural degradation in Thailand. The model has helped 512,986 people in 1,131 villages become self-reliant, sustainable, and self-sufficient by farming temperate crops and utilizing forests. This approach ensures safe and sustainable food sources for farmers, consumers, and the environment.
Start Small, Growing Strong
The Royal Project
In provinces like Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai, community-based social farms that were born from the Thai Royal Projects cultivate, process, and roast sustainable coffee. The less warm, high-altitude areas of northern Thailand are ideal for cultivating quality Arabica. In the past, opportunities were difficult to come by in these hill tribal villages. A lifeline for growing tea and coffee.
Start Small, Growing Strong
The Royal Project