Wat Phra Singh
This temple was Builted in 1345, and renovated in early 19th Century, the Lai Kam assembly hall at Wat Phra Signh is a fine example of Lanna temple architecture. It features soaring wing-shaped roofs as well as lanna wood carvings and stuccos throughout. Inside, it houses Phra Singh (Lion Buddha), the highly revered Buddha image showcasing the graceful ‘Lion’ style, believed to be influenced by Sukhothai and Indian Pala styles. Every Songkran, Chiang Mai locals would invite Phra Singh in a ceremonial procession around the city’s main roads for the bathing ritual.
The gold chadi of wat phra Singh temple, the oldest structure of this temple is the main chedi, that was built in 1345 by King Pha Yu to enshrine the ashes of his father. The chedi is circular in shape with a square base. Each of the sides of the chedi is decorated with elephant figures emerging from the chedi. Since its construction in the 14th century it has been enlarged considerably.The largest building in the wat is the Viharn Luang. The original viharn was built towards the end of the 14th century, but was replaced by the current building in 1925. This impressive viharn houses a very highly revered Buddha image named Phra Chao Thong Tip. This gold and copper image of a seated Buddha displaying the subduing Mara mara was cast in 1477.